To help you make sure your child is as a safe as possible, we’ve compiled an easy-to-read list of Tennessee’s safety laws as they apply to children.
Child safety restraint laws
Hundreds of children die or are seriously injured every year in car accidents. In Tennessee, the laws regarding child safety in cars are:
- A child aged 1 day through 1 year who weighs less than 20lbs must be in a rear-facing car seat
- A child aged 1 year to 3 years who weighs more than 20lbs must be secured in a front-facing car seat
- A child between 4 years and 8 years old who is shorter than 4’9” must use a booster seat
- A child aged 8 years and up who is taller than 4’9” must use a seat belt
- All children under the age of 16 wear a helmet while riding a bike
- Adults who use child seats on their bikes must secure any child who is under 40 pounds or 40 inches
- No child under the age of 16 may rent a bike (or have his or her parents rent a bike) unless that child already has a bike helmet, or the rental shop includes a bike helmet
- Bikes only carry the amount of people intended to ride them – so no riding on handlebars or “pegs”
- Your child’s bike be equipped with a lamp for night-time riding
Unattended vehicle law
Tennessee is one of the 19 states in the U.S. who has a law about leaving a child unattended in a car – it’s illegal. If your child is under the age of 7, he or she can only be left in the car if there is a person at least 13 years old in the car with him or her. The law applies to leaving a child in a car in a public place, such as a parking lot at the local convenience store. A first offense is a Class B misdemeanor with a $200 fine – and that’s only if your child is perfectly healthy and no harm has come to him or her.
We know that life can be busy sometimes, but your child’s safety always comes first. Feel free to call us or contact us any time if you want to learn more about the laws governing child safety in Tennessee.